Socially Conscious Jewelry; Donate to Haiti and Plant a Tree.

I have been thinking more and more about how businesses can be more socially conscious.  Business was wildly successful for me last year, but I do believe that money does not cause happiness.  Don’t get me wrong, I am truly grateful for all of my customers and am thoroughly enjoying jewelry making.

There was a big lull in January and I started to think, is this it?  Work, make money, take a break, work more?  I wasn’t feeling very inspired by this thought.  I started really thinking about a common truth that we often ignore, money does not create happiness.  Although, I do believe that giving to others does.

~Being socially aware and trying to better the world and your community is motivating, inspirational & energizing.~


Donations to Haiti

With that said, I have become re-inspired through some new projects that I am working on!  I have recently donated over $100 to Fonkoze in Haiti through the sales of my Radial Copper Tree Pendant. Currently 50% of the proceeds are going to small business loans in Haiti.

Fonkoze’s Mission

Fonkoze is Haiti’s alternative bank for the organized poor. In fact, it is a family of three institutions working together shoulder-to-shoulder towards a single compelling mission: building the economic foundations for democracy in Haiti by providing the rural poor with the tools they need to lift themselves out of poverty. This mission is reflected in our name, Fonkoze, which is an acronym for the Haitian Creole phrase “Fondasyon Kole Zepòl” meaning “Shoulder-to-Shoulder Foundation.”


Tree Planting with your Purchase!
(Coming Soon)

I am meeting tomorrow with a local organization with the hopes of having a tree planted when a customer purchases a specific tree pendant made from Eco Silver.  I am really excited for this!  I’ll add more information once there is a plan in place.

I would really like the tree to bear edibles, such as a Sugar Plum Tree (June Berry).  This is a local native species to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.  Sugar Plums are super tasty for people and birds.

I am also working on a new series of lockets which will hold a seed for the customer to plant!  I think that our relationship with nature is quite important.  Humans are just a part of the vast interconnected system that makes up the planet.  Everything is dependent upon everything else, even if it is not apparent to the naked eye.


My New Artist Statement

The ability to create miniature images in metal is fascinating.  The thinness of a handmade line has always intrigued me.   Natural elements and the subtle variations of a hand wrought design are the necessary antithesis to the many mass-produced objects we encounter daily.

My designs are cut in metal with a hand-held jewelers saw.  Texture is made with hammers, handmade stamps and various hand tools.  Patinas are carefully painted into details to create contrast.  Every edge, corner and surface is also finished by hand.

The use of silhouettes and figure ground reversal is inherent in my designs.  By sawing a hole in the shape of an object, the metal surrounding the sawn away part allows the viewer to see the figure.  The viewer perceives something that is only visually available because of it surroundings.

Many parts of life and existence become available to our senses because of the environment they are in.   Our surroundings help define who we are.

Beth Millner
Silversmith & Jewelry Artist
2010


Beth Millner Silversmith and Jewelry Artist



5 Comments

Filed under My Environment, Social Activism

5 responses to “Socially Conscious Jewelry; Donate to Haiti and Plant a Tree.

  1. Benny McCall

    Millions have lost everything in the quake – homes, food, jobs! For the next 12 months, the World Food Programme says 2 million people will need critical food assistance! If you want to help and learn more about the crisis response, go to: http://wfp.org/crisis/haiti> or you can text FRIENDS to 90999 to make a $5 donation.

  2. Loved coming here today – your words and your ACTIONS – like a pebble thrown in the pond….and it is because of people like you – that I call my friends – that makes my world so significant –

    I have never taken a class of yours – yet, you have taught me much just by your blog!

    Thanks Beth!

    Cannot wait to get my “Lucky” dove back!

    Please let me know how much it is?

    Someday – I would love to take a class from you on “Online Presense” yours is very nice and easy!

    • Thanks for your kind words Katie! Your pendant is ready at the Garden Bouquet and has a little note included about the cost. I will hopefully be offering a class about etsy.com at the eloft soon =)

  3. Beth: Anne Hastings e-mailed me this morning from Port-au-Prince. She was so pleased to see this, and believe me, she could use her spirits lifted just about now. In fact, you’ve lifted all our spirits. If you’ve been watching our website, you know how much progress has been made since the quake. But, there is much ahead, and you are part of that work now. Today, we will begin posting profiles of our clients in the quake zones. Gratefully, Leigh Carter, Executive Director, Fonkoze USA

Leave a Reply

