The Beginnings of a Jewelry Artist cont.

While in high school I became very interested in oil painting. I had some really awesome teachers who were very open to the idea of abstract art. I really enjoy the fluidity of oil paint and how long it takes to dry. I was still making jewelry now and then, but painting had become one of my focus.

When I was 18, I moved into my first apartment which had more space than I would ever have in a house. I was working a a local coffeehouse in the evenings and staying up all hours painting and hanging out with friends.

Then I attended UW-Marinette for a few years and had a great time learning from some ultra intelligent people (yes I am a nerd). I was very interested in Sociology and Anthropology, but found them to be slightly depressing subjects. So, after I finished at UW-Marinette, I decided to move to Marquette, MI (my current home) to study Art and Design.

My first art class at NMU was an oil painting class, and I will just say it is not what I expected.

My first jewelry class was in 2006. Until this point, I had no concept of soldering or any of the fundamental techniques of metals. I instantly became infatuated with the art of Metalsmithing and was hooked for life.

Sterling Silver and Jasper Necklace

Hand twisted sterling silver wire with brecciated jasper and jasper beads (SOLD).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

