Current Life on the Lake (Well, I don’t really live ‘on’ the Lake, but I do live a few blocks from it.)

In June of 2005, I moved up to Marquette, MI. I lived in town for a while and then I met Mike at Dead River Coffee which is in downtown Marquette (they roast all of there own beans and have fresh baked goods). In June of 2006, we remodeled Mike’s tiny home in Harvey, which is just outside of Marquette. We did a lot of hard work to completely redo this 18 X 18 foot house that we currently reside in. We had to put studs in the walls, completely redo the plumbing and electrical, the floor and drywall, we even moved 4 windows and put one in. It is hard living in a small house, but it is also very do-able ( is do-able a word? who knows, I think you get the gist).

Our little home is only a few blocks from the Lake and My little studio space takes up a corner of the kitchen. Yes, our bed is in the living room, but it’s not that big of a deal. The refrigerator is hard to open though.

I decided to quit my “real” job in late February of 2007 after waitressing still wasn’t what I wanted it to be. I was working at this awesome place called the Sweet Water Cafe’ which is on N 3rd St. They have really great food which mainly from scratch. It was the middle of winter and I started to realize I was working in the best restaurant I could imagine, and still wasn’t happy being a waitress.

Hand Woven Bracelets in Brass and Copper

Hand Woven Bracelets in Brass and Copper

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Current Life on the Lake (Well, I don’t really live ‘on’ the Lake, but I do live a few blocks from it.)

  1. Brian

    Very good post. Hope to read a lot more excellent posts in the near future.

Leave a Reply

